See If Your Illness Is on the List of Compassionate Allowance Conditions

Twenty-five new compassionate allowance conditions were announced today by the Social Security Administration (SSA).

The compassionate allowance program was designed to identify applicants whose conditions clearly meet Social Security’s standard of disability and allow them to bypass some of the SSA’s lengthy application approval process.
The new conditions include 12 cancers (including prostate cancer) as well as disorders that affect the digestive, neurological, immune, and multiple body systems. The new allowance conditions are:

  1. Angiosarcoma
  2. Atypical Teratoid/Rhabdoid Tumor
  3. Chronic Idiopathic Intestinal Pseudo Obstruction
  4. Coffin-Lowry Syndrome
  5. Esthesioneuroblastoma
  6. Giant Axonal Neuropathy
  7. Hoyeaal-Hreidarsson Syndrome
  8. Intracranial Hemangiopericytoma
  9. Joubert Syndrome
  10. Leptomeningeal Carcinomatosis
  11. Liposarcoma – metastatic or recurrent
  12. Malignant Ectomesenchymoma
  13. Malignant Renal Rhabdoid Tumor
  14. Marshall-Smith Syndrome
  15. Oligodendroglioma Brain Tumor- Grade III
  16. Pallister-Killian Syndrome
  17. Progressive Bulbar Palsy
  18. Prostate Cancer – Hormone Refractory Disease – or with visceral metastases
  19. Revesz Syndrome
  20. Seckel Syndrome
  21. Sjogren-Larsson Syndrome
  22. Small Cell Cancer of the Thymus
  23. Soft Tissue Sarcoma – with distant metastases or recurrent
  24. X-Linked Lymphoproliferative Disease
  25. X-Linked Myotubular Myopathy

For a list of all 225 compassionate allowance conditions, please see SSA’s Compassionate Allowance Conditions.

Be the first to comment!
Post a Comment